Femi Gbajabiamila

The House of Representatives has elected a new speaker. He is an old horse in the green chambers in the person of the former majority leader Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila.

He was overwhelmingly elected in a secret ballot held on the floor of the house yesterday after securing a total of 281 votes to defeat his arch-rival Umar Bago who scored 76 votes.

Gbajabiamila was announced the winner by the clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori after 3 grueling hours of voting by distinguished elected members of the chambers.

Said Sani-Omolori “Femi Gbajabiamila having secured the majority of the votes counted is hereby returned elected and declared speaker of the house”.

Lawan & Femi

The announcement of the speaker drew aloud ovation and applause from his teeming supporters with some exchanging banters and greetings for mission fulfilled.

It would be recalled that the ruling party the APC had from the onset back the candidature of Femi Gbajabiamila as the house speaker and Ahmad Lawan as the Senate President respectively.

It was learned that to prevent the occurrence of what transpired in the election of principal members in the last tenure of the legislative houses a lot of mobilization, pressure, and promises were deploy this time around to ensure the party wishes is obey.

It is therefore not surprising to see the emergence of the anointed candidates of the parties in the person of Gbajabiamila and Lawan emerging victorious as the Speaker and the Senate President respectively.