United States Embassy

Niger Delta states of  Akwa – Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Rivers excluding Port Harcourt and the Cross River States have been branded as High-security risk states or high-risk areas as a result of crime and insecurity.

The United States of America has, therefore, warned its citizens to avoid these states a plague warning that their government might not be able to access these areas to rescue them in the event of any mishap.

In a release published by the Bureau of Consular Affairs, 14 Nigerians states were listed with a “do not travel” instruction.

The country urged its citizens to reconsider travel to Nigeria “due to crime, terrorism, civil unrest, kidnapping, and maritime crime, which includes kidnappings, hijackings, boardings, theft, etc. Some areas have increased risk.


“Do Not Travel to Borno and Yobe States and Northern Adamawa State due to terrorism. Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Kaduna, Kano, and Yobe states due to kidnapping.

“Coastal areas of Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross Rivers, Delta, and Rivers states (with the exception of Port Harcourt) due to crime, civil unrest, kidnapping, and maritime crime,” US advised its citizens.

It added that the country might be unable to provide emergency services to its citizens in many areas of Nigeria due to security conditions.