Matriculating Students at Obong University

Obong University, a private tertiary institution located in Etim Ekpo Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State was under siege last Friday morning when armed bandits and cultists stormed the female hostels of the institution and abducted four students.

Luckily one out of the abducted students escaped and was later rescued by the police though with bullets wound. However, the other three female students were not as lucky as they were taken away by their captors into the bush surrounding the school from where they escaped.

The Police Public Relations officer in Akwa Ibom State DSP Macdon Odiko while recounting the unfortunate incident said “one person was injured and she is the person rescued by the police. She is presently undergoing treatment in a hospital in the state.

“The incident occurred around 2 a.m. on Friday morning within the female hostels. The hoodlums were 8 in number and the university security men were not armed. They came in from the bush as there is no perimeter fence around the school premises.

While condemning the attack on the school as callous and wicked the police spokesman promised that the police will ensure that the abducted students are rescued unhurt. He admitted that presently no arrest has been made and no one is under surveillance in connection with the crime.

Also commenting on the incident, the institution Vice-Chancellor Professor Udodo Ekanemesang appealed to the students to maintain peace and order while assuring them all hands are on deck to ensure that their fellow students abducted are released.

Senate Building At Obong University

The Vice-Chancellor re-action came when the students went on demonstration to protest the invasion and abduction of their colleagues in their hostel.

Obong University is a private university located in Obong Ntak, Etim Ekpo Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State. The school is said to be sponsored by the Church of Christ, Madison Tennessee, in the United States of America.

The University was licensed by the federal government in 2007 and currently runs courses in Computer Sciences, Microbiology, Biochemistry, English studies, religious studies, economics, Accounting, Business Administration etc.